OWAA bestows highest honors

Five earned special recognition June 13 during the concluding banquet at OWAA’s 83nd Annual Conference in Rochester, Minn.

At its recent annual conference in Rochester, Minn., the Outdoor Writers Association of America (OWAA), The Voice of the Outdoors, honored five with its most distinguished awards.
Michael Levy, of Williamsville, N.Y., received the 2010 J. Hammond Brown Memorial Award. The award is OWAA’s most prestigious recognition of a member “for devoted past service to the organization over a period of continuous years.” Freelance writer, editor and book author, Levy served as OWAA president in 1993-94 and is a Life Member, with his membership originating in 1982.
Glen Lau, of Ocala, Fla., received OWAA’s Excellence in Craft Award. The award honors an OWAA member “for outstanding effort in upholding the OWAA Creed and continued excellence in craft.” An OWAA member since 1969, Lau is a film maker and producer of several national TV series and documentaries. He is producer and host of “Quest For Adventure” TV series on TNN and also produces commercials and infomercials. Lau also has a still photography library specializing in underwater photos.
Terry Brady of Zieglerville, Penn., deputy press secretary for the Pennsylvania Department of Cnservation and Natural Resources, received OWAA’s top conservation award. The Circle of Chiefs award represents an affirmation of OWAA adherence to and support of the principles of conservation. An Active Member of OWAA since 1986, Brady is also a freelance saltwater fishing columnist. Prior to his current position with the Pennsylvania DCNR, Brady spent 28 years working for daily newspapers, writing outdoors columns.
The recipient of the 2009 Jackie Pfeiffer Memorial Award is Joan Turner of Columbia, Mo. “Joan Turner represents these qualities as a recipient of the Jackie Pfeiffer Memorial Award – genuine warmth, radiance, good will, helpfulness, generosity and kindness to others. She also has the rare quality of grace,” said last year’s recipient, Kay Richey, when presenting Turner with the award.
Mary Nickum of Fountain Hills, Ariz., received the Outstanding Board Member Award. A member since 2000, Nickum is a retired librarian who is now an editor and freelance writer. Her primary focus is on science for the public. Nickum is editor-in-chief of the Intermountain Journal of Science and currently edits World Aquaculture magazine.
Since its inception in 1927, OWAA has become the largest and oldest association of professional outdoor communicators in the United States. OWAA’s mission is to improve the professional skills of its members, set the highest ethical and communications standards, encourage public enjoyment and conservation of natural resources and mentor the next generation of professional outdoor communicators. The national headquarters is located in Missoula, Mont.
For more information on the OWAA conference, these awards and award winners, visit the organization’s website at www.owaa.org.
Further information about the award recipients and conference will appear in the August issue of OU.
For a list of the 2010 Excellence in Craft contest winners, click here.

Scroll to Top