Mountain of Jade Award winners

The Mountain of Jade Award recognizes an individual, organization or firm for distinguished effort to preserve, perpetuate or improve the quality of America’s great outdoors and thus add to the enjoyment of all people. Individual members of OWAA were ineligible.

OWAA's Mountain of Jade award
OWAA’s Mountain of Jade award

Originating in 1977 as a gift from Mike Cramond of a large, 80-pound “mountain of jade” set on a wide Canadian wood base, recipients were selected by the Past Presidents Council. The award was discontinued in 1993. 


1977 – President Jimmy Carter
1978 – AFTMA (now America Sportfishing Association)
1979 – Ducks Unlimited
1980 – Boy Scouts of America
1981 – Missouri Conservation Commission
1982 – The Nature Conservancy
1983 – Gulf Oil Corporation
1984 – Wildlife Management Institute
1985 – Sport Fishing Institute

1986 – Sheldon Coleman 
1987 – National Wild Turkey Federation
1988 – lzaak Walton League of America
1989 – FishAmerica Foundation
1990 – National Shooting Sports Foundation
1991 – National Wildlife Legislative Fund of America
1992 – National Rifle Association
1993 – Trout Unlimited

Learn about OWAA’s other contests and awards.

About OWAA

Recognized as “The Voice of the Outdoors,” OWAA is the nation’s largest organization of professional outdoor journalists. Its membership includes writers, photographers, videographers, radio and TV personalities, digital storytellers and artists. Formed in 1927, the nonprofit association’s mission is to improve the professional skills and opportunities of its members, set the highest ethical and communications standards, encourage public enjoyment and conservation of natural resources, and mentor the next generation of professional outdoor communicators.

Scroll to Top