Secondary Menu

Six OWAA contest winners judged ‘best of the best’

The President’s Choice Awards honor the best of the best work from winners in OWAA’s 2018 Excellence in Craft Contests. Past President Phil Bloom picked his favorites among first-place winners in the 2018 EIC contests to recognize with the President’s Choice Award. 

This year’s President’s Choice Award winners are:

Magazine/E-zine: Chris Madson, of Cheyenne, Wyoming, for “Chasing Rainbows,” published in the April 2017 issue of Wyoming Wildlife. Madson’s article placed first in the fishing category of the magazine/e-zine contest.

Newspaper/News Website: Erin Alberty, of Salt Lake City, Utah, for “Unlikely survivors: What a violent avalanche says about risk in the backcountry,” published March 16, 2017, in The Salt Lake Tribune. Alberty’s article placed first in the outdoor fun and adventure category of the newspaper/news website contest.
Blog: Christine Peterson, of Newcastle, Wyoming, for “Five Endangered Species Recoveries You’ve Never Heard Of,” published Feb. 1, 2017, on the Cool Green Science blog. Peterson’s blog post placed first in the conservation or nature category of the blog contest.

Radio/Podcast: Nicky Ouellet, of Whitefish, Montana, for “Night Cyclists Swap Sun for Moon in Glacier Park,” broadcast July 9, 2017, on Montana Public Radio. Ouellet’s segment placed first in the outdoor fun and adventure category of the radio/podcast contest.

Television/Video/Webcast: Bill Sherck, of Golden Valley, Minnesota, for “Fuller’s Michigan Grouse,” broadcast June 29, 2017, on the Outdoor Channel. Sherck’s show placed first in the hunting or shooting sports category of the television/video/webcast contest.

Photography: Keith Crowley, of Hudson, Wisconsin, for “Cheetah Chase,” which was printed in the Daily Mail on Feb. 9, 2017. Crowley’s photo placed first in the action category of the photography contest.

OWAA’s board of directors, members and staff thank the 2018 Excellence in Craft sponsors: Izaak Walton League of America, Ocean Conservancy, The Pew Charitable Trusts, and Realtree.

All 2018 Excellence in Craft award recipients are listed online at

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

© Outdoor Writers Association of America