Secondary Menu

2017 Bodie McDowell scholarships awarded

MISSOULA, Montana – The Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded four Bodie McDowell scholarships totaling $18,000 for the 2017-18 school year to undergraduate and graduate students studying outdoor communications.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Christa Beck, a graduate student in global communications at the American University of Paris, received $4,000
  • Marissa Heffernan, an undergraduate in journalism and environmental science at University of Arizona, received $4,000
  • Matt Reilly, an undergraduate in environmental studies and biology at Emory & Henry College, received $5,000
  • Patrick Tormey, a graduate student in science and natural history filmmaking at Montana State University, received $5,000

Recipients are paid at the commencement of the fall semester, and also receive a one-year student membership in the Outdoor Writers Association of America. OWAA’s endowment trustees manage the Bodie McDowell Scholarship Fund and distribute funds to college scholarship recipients each year in accordance with the OWAA bylaws. This year, 15 students applied for scholarships through the program. Recipients were selected by members of the education committee chaired by Tim Mead.

For more information and to apply, visit

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

© Outdoor Writers Association of America