Secondary Menu

Six OWAA contest winners judged ‘best of the best’

The OWAA President’s Choice Awards honor the best of the best work from a variety of media recognized in the association’s 2016 Excellence in Craft Contests.

Past President Lisa Ballard judged first-place winners from the 2016 EIC Contests.

This year’s President’s Choice Award winners are:

Magazine/E-zine: Ellen Horowitz, of Columbia Falls, Montana, for “Where Have All the Porcupines Gone?,” published in the March/April 2015 issue of Montana Outdoors. Horowitz’s article placed first in the Conservation or Nature Category of the Magazine/E-zine Contest.

Newspaper/News Website: Pat Wray, of Corvallis, Oregon, for “Albacore Fishing with Madison,” published Sept. 10, 2015, in the Corvallis Gazette-Times. Wray’s article placed first in the Fishing and Family Participation/Youth Outdoor Education Categories of the Newspaper/News Website Contest.

Blog: Ben Moyer, of Farmington, Pennsylvania, for “Into the Youghiogheny Gorge in search of native trout,” published June 1, 2015, on Moyer’s blog post placed first in the Fishing Category of the Blog Contest.

Radio/Podcast: Ty Stockton, of Cheyenne, Wyoming, for “The Pack with Legs,” broadcast June 1, 2015, on the Cowboy State News Network. Stockton’s show placed first in the Outdoor Fun and Adventure Category of the Radio/Podcast Contest.

Television/Video/Webcast: David Majure, of Gilbert, Arizona, for “Bringing Back the Bighorn,” broadcast March 19, 2015, by Arizona Game and Fish Department. Majure’s segment placed first in the Conservation or Nature category of the Television/Video/Webcast Contest.

Photography: Joe McDonald, of McClure, Pennsylvania, for “Pallas long-tongued bat,” published in the Spring 2015 issue of Nature Photographer magazine. McDonald’s photo placed first in the Action Category of the Photography Contest.

With much appreciation, OWAA’s board of directors, members and staff thank the 2016 Excellence in Craft sponsors: Izaak Walton League of America, National Rife Association, Ocean Conservancy, The Pew Charitable Trusts, and Realtree.

All 2016 Excellence in Craft award recipients are listed online at

, , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

© Outdoor Writers Association of America