Secondary Menu

2014 Norm Stung Youth Writing Awards contest winners announced

MISSOULA, Mont. – Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded 12 Norm Strung Youth Writing Award prizes totaling $1,700, sponsored by the Safari Club International Foundation.

The annual contest has categories for poetry and prose in two divisions: junior (grades 6-8) and senior (grades 9-12), and entries must be outdoors oriented and previously published in a newsletter, newspaper, magazine, literary collection, or similar publication. First-place winners in all categories received $250, second-place winners received $125 and third-place winners received $50. This year’s winners are:

Junior Poetry

First place: “Atop a Mountain in the Alaskan Wilderness,” by Drew Kluthe; Bemidji, Minnesota (Northern Community Radio)
Second place: “Reincarnation,” by Gabriella C. Eck; Jasper, Indiana (2013 Letters About Literature Anthology: Winning Letters & Poems from Young Hoosier Writers)
Third place: “Respect for the Hunt,” by Marais Houser; Esko, Minnesota (Minnesota Outdoor News)

Senior Poetry

First place: “Father and Daughter Bonding,” by Alexis Dietz; Zanesville, Ohio (Ohio Outdoor News)
Second place: “Those Weekends,” by Brenna Walton; Champlin, Minnesota (Minnesota Outdoor News)
Third place: “Leaking,” by Alexandra Palocz; Weston, Massachusetts (The Current, Weston High School Literary Magazine)

Junior Prose

First place: “When 9.9 Horsepower is Close Enough,” by Liz Weiers; New Prague, Minnesota (Minnesota Outdoor News)
Second place: “My First Buck,” by Luke Morrison; Albert Lea, Minnesota (Minnesota Outdoor News)
Third place: “Heart of the Hunter,” by Carol Gregoire; Lakeville, Ohio (Ohio Outdoor News)

Senior Prose

First place: “Rapid Recovery,” by Henry Gregson; Moscow, Idaho (The Spokesman-Review)
Second place: “Our Special Treestand,” by Paige Szarowski; Dillsburg, Pennsylvania (Pennsylvania Outdoor News)
Third place: “First Bird Signals a Great Day of Duck Hunting,” by Joshua Rollins; Hermantown, Minnesota (Minnesota Outdoor News)

Winning entries from this year’s contest will be printed in the December/January issue of Outdoors Unlimited, OWAA’s official trade publication.

The deadline for next year’s entries is March 16, 2015. For complete contest rules and more information, visit

The Norm Strung Youth Writing Contest was named after Norm Strung, who served as OWAA president in 1984-1985. Now deceased, Strung received OWAA’s Excellence in Craft award in 1989. In 1988, Strung was the Ham Brown recipient for service to OWAA. That same year, he organized and edited a book for OWAA titled “Selling the Outdoor Story.” He was also recognized as the Outstanding Board member in 1975.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

© Outdoor Writers Association of America