Secondary Menu

2014 Bodie McDowell Scholarship recipients announced

MISSOULA, Mont. – The Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded four scholarships for the 2014-15 school year to undergraduate and graduate students studying outdoor communications. Congratulations to 2014 Bodie McDowell Scholarship winners!

Successful graduate applicants are Monica Prelle, a master’s candidate in journalism at Harvard University and Gloria Dickie, who attends University of Colorado Boulder as a master’s candidate in environmental journalism. Both graduate scholarships were awarded in the amount of $5,300.

Undergraduate students receiving scholarships are Josh Honeycutt who will be a senior at Western Kentucky University pursuing his degree in journalism and Stacie Sikora who will be a junior at University of Nebraska-Lincoln studying journalism and advertising and public relations. Both recipients will receive scholarships in the amount of $4,500.

OWAA’s Education Committee, chaired by Jason Jenkins, reviewed scholarship applications, scored them based upon pre-determined criteria and selected the winners. Headquarters staff solicited applications through letters and emails sent to deans and department chairs of journalism and English and other relevant college departments. Thanks to the following members for judging this year’s applications: Larry Larsen, Colleen Miniuk-Sperry and Larry Morgan.

Recipients are paid at the commencement of the fall semester, and also receive a one-year student membership in Outdoor Writers Association of America. OWAA’s Endowment Trustees manage the Bodie McDowell Scholarship Fund and distribute funds to college scholarship recipients each year in accordance with OWAA bylaws. For more information and to learn about how to apply, visit

Comments are closed.

© Outdoor Writers Association of America