Secondary Menu

2012 Norm Strung Youth Writing Awards contest winners announced

MISSOULA, Mont. – Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded 12 Norm Strung Youth Writing prizes totaling $1,700, sponsored by the Safari Club International Foundation.

The annual contest has categories for poetry and prose in two divisions: junior (grades 6-8) and senior (grades 9-12), and entries must be outdoors oriented and previously published in a newsletter, newspaper, magazine, literary collection, or similar publication. First-place winners in all categories received $250, second-place winners received $125 and third-place winners received $50. This year’s winners are:

Junior Poetry

  • First place: “Where Poems Hide For Me” by Xander Barton (Bath, Maine)
  • Second place: “Phosphorescence” by Eloise Hart Kelly (Bremer, Maine)
  • Third place: “Time and I” by Helena Solorzano (Alna, Maine)

Senior Poetry

  • First place: “The Gulf” by Edyt Dickstein (Livingston, N.J.)
  • Second place: “Bristlecone Pine” by Kelly Clare (Traverse City, Mich.)
  • Third place: “Leaf” by Alexandra Palocz (Weston, Mass.)

Junior Prose

  • First place: “For Sale” by Xander Barton (Bath, Maine)
  • Second place: “The Feel” by Triston Hasty-Grant (Owasso, Okla.)
  • Third place: “The Rainy Day Buck” by Anson Kuznik (Brooklyn Park, Minn.)

Senior Prose

  • First place: “A Magical Spring Day” by Rachel Libke (Rogers, Minn.)
  • Second place: “Frozen Turkey Hunt” by Kyle Hansen (Millwood, Wash.)
  • Third place: “The Simple Lessons” by Kali Reginek (Rice, Minn.)

Winning entries from this year’s contest will be printed in theDecember/January issue of Outdoors Unlimited, OWAA’s official trade publication.

The deadline for next year’s entries is March 15, 2013.  For complete contest rules and more information, visit

The Norm Strung Youth Writing Contest was named after Norm Strung, who served as OWAA president in 1984-1985.  Now deceased, Strung received OWAA’s Excellence in Craft award in 1989. In 1988, Strung was the Ham Brown recipient for service to OWAA. That same year, he organized and edited a book for OWAA titled “Selling the Outdoor Story.” He was also recognized as the Outstanding Board member in 1975.

Comments are closed.

© Outdoor Writers Association of America