Secondary Menu

Five OWAA contest winners judged ‘Best of the Best’

OWAA 2010-11 Past President Tony Dolle judged first-place winners ofthe 2011 Excellence in Craft contests,  picking the best of the best work from each type of media recognized in the contests.. This year’s Presidents’ Choice Awards winners are:

Magazine category: Tim Christie of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. “A Long Shot,” published in the September/October 2010 issue of Colorado Outdoors.  Christie won first place in the Magazine category of the Big Game Hunting contest, sponsored by the Outdoor Channel.

TV/Video category: Ron Schara of Minneapolis, Minn. “Kyle’s Safari,” broadcast on Schara’s television program Minnesota Bound, May 23, 2010.  Schara won first place in the TV/Video category of the Big Game Hunting contest, sponsored by the Outdoor Channel.

Newspaper category: Kris Millgate of Idaho Falls, Idaho. “Little Green Thumbs,” published in the Post Register, Aug. 24, 2010. Millgate won first place in the Newspaper category of the Family Participation/Youth Education contest, sponsored by RealTree.

Art/Photo category: Colleen Miniuk-Sperry of Chandler, Ariz. “Climbing in Devil’s Canyon.”  Miniuk-Sperry won first place in the People category of the Fine Arts contest.

Radio Category: Ty Stockton of Cheyenne, Wyo. “Duck Hunting Ain’t Cheap,” broadcast on Cowboy State News Network, Nov. 3, 2010. Stockton won first place in the Short Format category of the Radio/Podcast contest.

A heartfelt thank you goes out to Tony Dolle who judged this year’s “Best of the Best.”

All 2011 Excellence in Craft award recipients are listed online at

With much appreciation, OWAA’s Board of Directors, members and staff thank the 2011 Excellent in Craft sponsors: Ducks Unlimited, Outdoor Channel, Realtree and The Coleman Company.

, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

© Outdoor Writers Association of America