Secondary Menu

2011 Bodie McDowell Scholarship Recipients Announced

MISSOULA, Mont. – The Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded six scholarships for the 2011-12 school year to undergraduate and graduate students studying journalism.  Congratulations to 2011 Bodie McDowell Scholarship winners!

Successful graduate applicants are Amy A. Whitcomb, University of Idaho ($3,000); Patricia Mary O’Kane, University of Wisconsin – Madison ($3,500); and Jason Daniel Belts Kauffman, University of Montana – Missoula ($4,500).

Undergraduate students receiving scholarships include: Cole Elliott Tanner, Iowa State University ($3,000); Bryce Elliott Butner, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill ($3,500); and Hannah Jean Ryan, University of Montana – Missoula ($4,500).

OWAA’s Education Committee, chaired by Colleen Miniuk-Sperry, reviewed scholarship applications, scored them based upon pre-determined criteria and selected the winners. Headquarters staff solicited applications through letters and emails sent to deans and department chairs of journalism and English and other relevant college departments. Thanks to the following people for judging this year’s applications: Larry Larson, Tim Christie, Jack Ballard, Phil Bloom, John Nickum, Holly Endersby, Paul Queneau and Colleen Miniuk-Sperry.

Recipients are paid at the commencement of the fall semester, and also receive a one-year student membership in Outdoor Writers Association of America. OWAA’s trustees are required by our bylaws to distribute a calculated portion of the Bodie McDowell Fund to college scholarship recipients each year.

, , , , ,


  1. - Outdoor Writers Association of America - September 15, 2015

    […] 2011 Scholarship Recipients […]

© Outdoor Writers Association of America