Secondary Menu

2010 Bodie McDowell Scholarship recipients announced

Sept. 1, 2010

For more info, contact:

Robin Giner,



MISSOULA, Mont. – Congratulations to 2010 Bodie McDowell Scholarship winners! Successful graduate applicants are Desiré Aguirre ($1,000), North Idaho College (writing); Cody Bloomsburg ($1,000), University of Montana (writing); and Michael Easter ($1,500), New York University (writing).

Undergraduate students receiving scholarships include Kyle Nickolite ($1,500), University of South Dakota (broadcasting/photography); Clayton Paddie ($1,500) University of Montana (photography); Bryce Butner ($1,500), University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill (writing); Sarah Delheimer ($1,500), University of Tennessee – Knoxville (writing).

OWAA’s Education Committee, chaired by Katie McKalip, reviewed scholarship applications, scored them based upon pre-determined criteria and selected the winners. Headquarters staff solicited applications through letters and e-mails sent to appropriate dean’s and department chairs. Thanks to the following for judging this year’s applications: Tyler Stockton, Les Booth, Michael Frome, and Mary Nickum, and to committee chair McKalip.

Recipients are paid at the commencement of the fall semester. OWAA’s trustees are required by our bylaws to distribute a calculated portion of the Bodie McDowell Fund to college scholarship recipients each year.

The 1,200-member Outdoor Writers Association of America is the oldest and largest association of professional outdoor communicators in the United States. It was organized in 1927 by members of the Izaak Walton League of America and includes professional communicators dedicated to sharing the outdoor experience. OWAA’s professionals include writers, photographers, outdoors radio- and television show hosts, book authors, videographers, lecturers and artists. The association is headquartered in Missoula, Mont. Visit for more info.

Comments are closed.

© Outdoor Writers Association of America