Secondary Menu

Five OWAA members contest winners judged ‘Best of the Best’

October 19, 2009

A select group of OWAA Past Presidents judged first-place winners of each Excellence in Craft Contest category, of which there are five. This year’s Presidents’ Choice Awards winners are:

Magazine Category: Edward Nickens, Raleigh, N.C., “Cry from the North,” Field & Stream magazine. Backcountry Sportsman Contest sponsored by Sierra Club.

TV/Video Category: Ron Schara, Minneapolis, Minn., “Black Canyon,” Minnesota Bound on KARE-TV. Camping/Backpacking/Outdoor Recreation Travel/Biking/Climbing Contest sponsored by The Coleman Company.

Newspaper Category: Steve Pollick, Fremont, Ohio, “The flying dragon,” The Blade (Toledo). Natural History contest sponsored by Outdoor Writers Association of America.

Art/Photo Category: Tim Christie, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, “A cold pack out,” Sightron 2008 catalog. Backcountry Sportsman Contest sponsored by Sierra Club.

Radio Category: Dan Small, Belgium, WI, “Kim’s First Deer,” Dan Small’s Outdoor Radio Network. Big Game Hunting sponsored by the Outdoor Channel.

Tim Christie, Edward Nickens, Steve Pollick, Ron Schara and Dan Small will receive Presidents’ Choice Award plaques. All award recipients along with publication names for the 2009 OWAA Excellence in Craft Awards are published on OU Online.

A heartfelt thank you goes out to the following OWAA Past Presidents who judged this year’s Best of the Best: Thanks to Bill Hilts Sr., Jim Low, Marty Malin, Rich Patterson and Spencer Turner.

With much appreciation – OWAA’s board of directors, members and staff thank our Excellent in Crafts Contest sponsors: Ducks Unlimited, National Wildlife Federation, Outdoor Channel, Realtree, Sierra Club, The Coleman Company, The Wilderness Society and Trout Unlimited.

Comments are closed.

© Outdoor Writers Association of America